Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States Government.

Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

pictures of a person standing in a forest, a person on a hill, person stand by a tree, and a wildland firefighter

Focus Areas

The Western Wildland Environmental Threat Assessment Center develops and communicates scientific understanding of environmental threats to land managers and natural resource specialists across the western United States. Our work is organized into the following four focus areas:
    WWETAC serves all seven Forest Service Regions in the western United States: R1: Northern region, R2 Rocky Mountain Region, R3 Southwest Region, R4 Intermountain Region, R5 Pacific Southwest Region, R6 Pacific Northwest Region, and R10 Alaska Region

    WWETAC serves all 7 Forest Service Regions in the western United States.