Mendenhall Glacier Fish Cam

Sockeye salmon will likely move into camera's view in mid-July. From mid-July through the end of August, the sockeye salmon enter the creek to dig redds (nests), find mates and spawn.

Cutthroat trout and Dolly Varden (similar to Bull trout) are also in the creek system. These fish consume any eggs that don't make it into the redd. You can also see coho salmon fry from time to time.

Adult sockeye in Steep Creek average 24" in length. Dolly Varden tend to be smaller, around 12-18" in length.

Despite appearances, the creek is only about 18" deep near the camera.

Best viewing times are:

Starting at 8:30am ET | 6:30am MT | 4:30am Alaska time

Ending at 1:30am ET | 11:30pm MT | 9:30pm Alaska time

At night there is not enough natural light for the video camera.

For more information about the Steep Creek Fish Viewing Site, visit: http://www.fs.usda.gov/detail/r10/spe...

Brought to you by the Tongass National Forest, U.S. Forest Service.