USDA Forest Service

Pacific Southwest Research Station

Pacific Southwest
Research Station

800 Buchanan Street
Albany, CA 94710-0011
(510) 883-8830
United States Department of Agriculture Forest Service. USDA logo which links to the department's national site. Forest Service logo which links to the agency's national site.

Publications and Products

cover image

General Technical Report

Title: Proceedings of the sudden oak death sixth science symposium

Author: Frankel, Susan J.; Harrell, Katharine M., tech. coords.

Date: 2017

Source: Gen. Tech. Rep. PSW-GTR-255. Albany, CA: Pacific Southwest Research Station, Forest Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Station ID: GTR-PSW-255

Description: The Sudden Oak Death Sixth Science Symposium provided a forum for current research on sudden oak death, caused by the exotic quarantine pathogen Phytophthora ramorum. More than 50 submissions describing papers or posters on the following sudden oak death/P. ramorum topics are included: biology, genetics, nursery and wildland management, monitoring, and ecology. Abstracts are also provided from a special session on Phytophthoras in California native plant nurseries and restoration sites.


Frankel, Susan J.; Harrell, Katharine M., tech. coords. 2017. Proceedings of the sudden oak death sixth science symposium. Gen. Tech. Rep. GTR-PSW-255. Albany, CA: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Pacific Southwest Research Station. 106 p.

View and print the entire publication (5.1 MB) or the individual papers below.

Front Matter

Impacts and Status of Phytophthora ramorum

Alan Kanaskie, Randy Wiese, Danny Norlander, Jon Laine, Sarah Navarro, Ellen Michaels Goheen, Ron Rhatigan, Everett Hansen, Wendy Sutton, Paul Reeser, Nik Grünwald, Zhian Kamvar, and Nancy Osterbauer
Margaret Metz, J. Morgan Varner, Ross Meentemeyer, Kerri Frangioso, and David Rizzo

Sudden Oak Death and Landscape Ecology

Devon A. Gaydos, Krishna Pacifici, Ross K. Meentemeyer, and David. M Rizzo
Ross K. Meentemeyer, Francesco Tonini, Douglas Shoemaker, Richard C. Cobb, Brendan A. Harmon, Vaclav Petras, Anna Petrasova, and Helena Mitasova

Sudden Oak Death Management

Brendan Twieg, Yana Valachovic, Richard Cobb, and Dan Stark
Richard C. Cobb, David M. Rizzo, Kerri Frangioso, Peter Hartsough, Janet Klein, Mike Swezy, Andrea Williams, Carl Sanders, and Susan J. Frankel

Ecology: Forest Change Over Time

Brice A. McPherson, Greg Biging, Maggi Kelly, and David L. Wood
Allison B. Simler, Margaret R. Metz, Ross K. Meentemeyer, Kerri M. Frangioso, and David M. Rizzo
Pierluigi (Enrico) Bonello, Anna O. Conrad, Luis Rodriguez Saona, Brice A. McPherson, and David L. Wood
Angela Dale, Nicolas Feau, Julien Ponchart, Guillaume Bilodeau, Jean Berube, and R.C. Hamelin

Acute Oak Decline in the United Kingdom

Nathan Brown, Stephen Parnell, Frank van den Bosch, Mike Jeger, and Sandra Denman


Catherine A. Eyre, Katherine J. Hayden, Peter Croucher, Shannon Schechter, Jessica W. Wright, and Matteo Garbelotto
Takao Kasuga, Mai Bui, Elizabeth Bernhardt, Tedmund Swiecki, Kamyar Aram, Lien Bertier, Jennifer Yuzon, Liliana M. Cano, Joan Webber, Clive Brasier, Caroline Press, Niklaus Grünwald, David Rizzo, and Matteo Garbelotto
Zhian N. Kamvar, Everett M. Hansen, Alan M. Kanaskie, Meredith M. Larsen, and Niklaus J. Grünwald

Nurseries and Managed Landscapes

Darren Strenge, Marianne Elliott, Gary Chastagner, Casey Sclar, and Daniel Stern
Corina Junker, Patrick Goff, Stefan Wagner, and Sabine Werres

Phytophthora Detections in Native Plant Nurseries and Restoration Sites

S. Rooney-Latham, C.L. Blomquist, M.C. Soriano, Y.Y. Guo, P. Woods, K.L. Kosta, K. Weber, T.J. Swiecki, E.A. Bernhardt, K. Suslow, and S.J. Frankel
Tyler B. Bourret, Heather K. Mehl, David M. Rizzo, Tedmund J. Swiecki, Elizabeth A. Bernhardt, and Janell M. Hillman
Janet Hillman, Tedmund J. Swiecki, Elizabeth A. Bernhardt, Heather K. Mehl, Tyler B. Bourret, and David Rizzo
Alisa Shor, John Doyle, Sharon Farrell, Alison Forrestel, Christa Conforti, Lew Stringer, Terri Thomas, and Laura Lee Sims


Tyler B. Bourret, Heather K. Mehl, Kamyar Aram, and David M. Rizzo
Joyce Eberhart, Fumiaki Funahashi, Zachary S. L. Foster, and Jennifer Parke
M. Garbelotto, S. Drill, C. Powell, and J. Malpas
B.J. Knaus, K.A. Graham, Niklaus J. Grünwald, and Valerie J. Fieland
Douglas G. Luster, Timothy Widmer, and Michael McMahon, and C. André Lévesque
S. Rooney-Latham, C.L. Blomquist, A. Williams, E. Gunnison, and T. Pastalka
Wolfgang Schweigkofler, Kathleen Kosta, Tomas Pastalka, Vernon Huffman, Supriya Sharma, and Karen Suslow
S.F. Shamoun,G. Sumampong, D. Rioux, and A. Schlenzig
Supriya Sharma, Wolfgang Schweigkofler, Karen Suslow, Timothy L. Widmer