You are here: Home | Open Space Conservation
Open Space Conservation

Three teams were created to help develop the Forest Service's Open Space
Conservation Strategy.

The Steering Committee is comprised of Forest Service executives who have led
  the agency's effort to address the loss of open space.  This Committee
  provides leadership and oversight of the Strategy development process.

The Strategy Development Team consists of representatives
  from each Forest Service deputy area and different field units from
  across the country.  This Team participated in a week-long work session
  to review the comments received from the public and from other Forest
  Service employees to identify key strategies and supporting actions for
  the Strategy.  They also serve as a resource for reviewing drafts and
  providing ongoing feedback.

The Staff Team in the Washington Office coordinates the
  strategy development process, plans meetings, develops drafts,
  facilitates public involvement in the process, organizes reviews of
  drafts, and incorporates comments.

Steering Committee Members

  • Janette Kaiser, Director, Rangeland Management, Washington Office
  • Kathryn Maloney, Director, State and Private Forestry, Northeastern Area
  • Kathy McAllister, Deputy Regional Forester, Region 1
  • Pete Roussopoulos, Director, Southern Research Station
Strategy Development Team Members
  • Ralph Alig, Pacific Northwest Research Station
  • Martina Barnes, Northeastern Area State and Private Forestry
  • Pam Brown, Superior National Forest
  • Brett Butler, Forest Inventory and Analysis
  • Nan Christianson, Bitterroot National Forest and R1/R4
  • Kathryn Conant, Washington Office Cooperative Forestry
  • Jane Darnell, Wyoming National Forests and National Grasslands
  • Jon Haber, R1 Regional Office
  • Brent Handley, R5 Regional Office
  • Rob Iwamoto, Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest
  • Marsha Kearney, Apalachicola, Ocala, and Osceola National Forests
  • Ed Macie, R8 Cooperative Forestry
  • Andy Mason, R10 State and Private Forestry
  • Bill Otani, R6 Regional Office
  • Tammy Randall-Parker, Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre & Gunnison National Forests
  • Floyd Thompson, Washington Office Recreation and Heritage Resources
  • Larry Timchak, Caribou-Targhee National Forest
  • Dave Wear, Southern Research Station
  • Gary Ziehe, R3 Regional Office / Lincoln National Forest

Washington Office Staff Team Members

  • Tracy Calizon, Research and Development
  • Keith Cline, Urban and Community Forestry
  • Meg Roessing, Forest Management
  • Kay Wiand, Budget & Program Analysis
  • James Melonas, Cooperative Forestry
  • Kathryn Conant, Cooperative Forestry
  • Amanda Cundiff, Cooperative Forestry