About Us  |  Contact Us  |  FAQ's  |  Newsroom

[design image slice] U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service on faded trees in medium light green background [design image slice] more faded trees
[design image] green box with curved corner
[design image] green and cream arch
Employee Search
Information Center
National Offices and Programs
Phone Directory
Regional Offices

US Forest Service
1400 Independence Ave., SW
Washington, D.C.

(800) 832-1355

  USA dot Gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal.


You are here: Home > Maps and Brochures > Forest Maps

Getting a Map for a National Forest or Grassland

Most National Forests and Grasslands offer online maps or instructions on how to obtain a printed map. To find a map, please click on one of the National Forest, Grassland or other area links below.

Note: All these links will open a new window in the map section for the National Forest, Grassland or other area.

Northern Region -

The Northern Region (Region 1 for the Forest Service) has forests and grasslands in Northern Idaho, Montana and North Dakota.

National Forests: Beaverhead-Deer-lodge, Bitterroot, Clearwater, Custer, Flathead, Gallatin, Helena, Idaho Panhandle, Kootenai, Lewis & Clark, Lolo and Nez Perce.

National Grasslands: Dakota Prairie Grasslands

Rocky Mountain Region -

The Rocky Mountain Region (Region 2 for the Forest Service) has forests and grasslands in Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota and Eastern Wyoming.

National Forests: Arapaho, Bighorn, Black Hills, Grand Mesa, Gunnison, Medicine Bow, Nebraska, Pike, Rio Grande, Roosevelt, Routt, Samuel R. McKelvie, San Isabel, San Juan, Shoshone, Uncompahgre and White River.

National Grasslands: Buffalo Gap, Cimarron, Comanche, Fort Pierre, Oglala, Pawnee and Thunder Basin.

Southwestern Region -

The Southwestern Region (Region 3 for the Forest Service) has forests in Arizona and New Mexico.

National Forests: Apache-Sitgreaves, Carson, Cibola, Coconino, Coronado, Gila, Kaibab, Lincoln, Prescott, Santa Fe and Tonto.

Intermountain Region -

The Intermountain Region (Region 4 for the Forest Service) has forests in Southern Idaho, Nevada, Utah, and Western Wyoming.

National Forests: Ashley, Boise, Bridger-Teton, Caribou-Targhee, Dixie, Fishlake, Humboldt-Toiyabe, Manti-LaSal, Payette, Salmon-Challis, Sawtooth, Uinta and Wasatch-Cache.

Pacific Southwest Region -

The Pacific Southwest Region (Region 5 for the Forest Service) has forests and other areas of interest in California.

National Forests: Angeles, Cleveland, Eldorado, Inyo, Klamath, Lassen, Los Padres, Mendocino, Modoc, Plumas, San Bernardino, Sequoia, Shasta-Trinity, Sierra, Six Rivers, Stanislaus and Tahoe.

Other areas: Giant Sequoia National Monument and Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit.

Pacific Northwest Region -

The Pacific Northwest Region (Region 6 for the Forest Service) has forests, grasslands and other areas of interest in Oregon and Washington.

National Forests: Colville, Deschutes, Fremont, Gifford Pinchot, Malheur, Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie, Mt. Hood, Ochoco, Okanogan, Olympic, Rogue River, Siskiyou, Siuslaw, Umatilla, Umpqua, Wallowa-Whitman, Wenatchee, Willamette and Winema.

National Grasslands: Crooked River

Other areas: Alpine Lakes Wilderness, Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area, Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area, Hells Canyon National Recreation Area, Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument and Newberry Crater National Volcanic Monument.

Southern Region -

The Southern Region (Region 8 for the Forest Service) has forests and grasslands in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Lousianna, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.

National Forests: Angelina, Apalachicola, Bienville, Caribbean, Chattahoochee-Oconee, Cherokee, Croatan, Daniel Boone, Davy Crockett, Delta, De Soto, Francis Marion, George Washington & Jefferson, Holly Springs, Homochitto, Kisatchie, Land Between The Lakes National Recreation Area, Nantahala, National Forests In Alabama, National Forests In Florida, National Forests In Mississippi, National Forests In North Carolina, National Forests in Texas, Ocala, Osceola, Ouachita, Ozark-St. Francis, Sabine, Sam Houston, Pisgah, Sumter, Tombigbee and Uwharrie.

National Grasslands: Caddo-L.B.J. and National Grasslands in Texas.

Eastern Region -

The Eastern Region (Region 9 for the Forest Service) has forests and grasslands in Illinois, Indiania, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Hampshire, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Vermont, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

National Forests: Allegheny, Chequamegon-Nicolet, Chippewa, Green Mountain & Finger Lakes, Hiawatha, Hoosier, Huron-Manistee, Mark Twain, Monongahela, Ottawa, Shawnee, Superior, Wayne and White Mountain.

National Grasslands: Midewin National Tallgrass Prairie.

Alaska Region -

The Alaska Region (Region 10 for the Forest Service) has two forests in Alaska.

National Forests: Chugach and Tongass.

US Forest Service
Last modified July 07, 2014

[graphic] USDA logo, which links to the department's national site. [graphic] Forest Service logo, which links to the agency's national site. [graphic] A link to the US Forest Service home page.