Skip to Main Content
Home >> Managing the Land >> Wildland Fire >> Wildland Fire Professionals >> Avsafety >> Aviation User and Management Training

Aviation User and Management Training

The Forest Service utilizes aircraft in the support or accomplishment of many of our programs and projects. The aircraft users are as many and varied as the types of aircraft used. Our goal is to accomplish safe, efficient, and effective utilization of aviation resources. Increasing employee awareness of agency policy, procedures, and safe practices must receive high priority. Aviation training, whether basic safety, specialized, or management, is a method to increase this awareness and a key to meeting this goal.


2016 USFS National Aviation Safety Management System Guide

5.1.1 All Forest Service employees (FSM 5720.46) share responsibility for aviation safety. Training is crucial for a strong safety culture. Employees are expected to meet training standards:

  • Non-Fire Related Aviation Position.  All employees who work with or around aircraft in non-fire related activities shall be qualified in accordance with the Interagency Aviation Training Guide.  Personnel attempting to qualify for non-fire aviation positions may be credited for training that is equivalent to or exceeds the stated minimum requirements.  Requests for in-lieu credit must be forwarded through the RASM to the National Aviation Safety Training Program Manager and be approved in writing prior to assignment. 

Aviation safety training follows a building-block approach. Employees will receive training commensurate with their position level within the organization and impact on the safety of the organization’s operations. Personnel with aviation responsibilities must comply with policy and program guidance (FSM 5723) to ensure their training is kept current. All aviation training is documented in each employee’s training record.


Interagency Aviation Training (IAT)

The Interagency Aviation Training program, developed by the Interagency Aviation Training Steering Committee, under the National Interagency Aviation Council, is the basis for the IAT curriculum. Interagency Aviation Training meets the training requirements for aviation users as outlined in FSM 5725. Training requirements are specified in the Interagency Aviation Training Guide (FSM 5725.06). Many courses are available on-line with several more planned for the future. 

Interagency Aviation Training (IAT) Guide

Approved Pathways:

Southern California Safety Institute (SCSI)
• University of Southern California (USC)
• Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (ERAU)
Daytona Beach (ERAU)
Transportation Safety Institute (TSI)
National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)


Skip to Main Content
Jump to Top of Page