Land Areas Report Definitions of Terms

Gross Acreage NFS Acreage   Other Acreage
Sum of NFS and Other Acreages Areas that fall within one of the National Forest System designations described below.   Areas located within NFS boundaries that are not federally owned or administered by the Forest Service.


National Forest System
  A nationally significant system of Federally owned units of forest, range, and related land consisting of national forests, purchase units, national grasslands, land utilization project areas, experimental forest areas, experimental range areas, designated experimental areas, other land areas, water areas, and interests in lands that are administered by the USDA Forest Service or designated for administration through the Forest Service. Also see Section 11 of Forest and Rangeland Renewable Resources Planning Act of 1974 (P.L. 93-378, 88 Stat. 476, 16 U.S.C. 1609).
National Forest
  A unit formally established and permanently set aside and reserved for National Forest purposes.
Purchase Unit
  A unit designated by the Secretary of Agriculture or previously approved by the National Forest Reservation Commission for purposes of Weeks Law acquisition.
National Grassland
  A unit designated by the Secretary of Agriculture and permanently held by the Department of Agriculture under Title III of the Bankhead-Jones Farm Tenant Act.
Land Utilization Project
  A unit designated by the Secretary of Agriculture for conservation and utilization under Title III of the Bankhead-Jones Farm Tenant Act.
Research and Experimental Area
  A unit reserved and dedicated by the Secretary of Agriculture for forest or range research and experimentation.
National Preserve
  A unit established to protect and preserve scientific, scenic, geologic, watershed, fish, wildlife, historic, cultural, and recreational values; and to provide for multiple use and sustained yield of its renewable resources.
Other Area
  An area administered by the Forest Service that is not included in one of the above groups.
  A large geographic area containing units of the National Forest System.


National Forest System Special Designated Areas

National Forest Wilderness Areas
  Areas designated by Congress as a part of the National Wilderness Preservation System.
National Forest Primitive Areas
  Areas designated by the Chief of the USDA Forest Service as primitive areas. They are administered in the same manner as national wilderness areas, pending studies to determine suitability as a component of the National Wilderness Preservation System.
National Wild and Scenic River Areas
  Areas designated by Congress as part ofthe National Wild and Scenic River System.
National Recreation Areas
  Areas established by Congress for the purpose of assuring and implementing the protection and management of public outdoor recreation opportunities.
National Scenic-Research Area
  Areas established by Congress to provide use and enjoyment of certain ocean headlands and to insure protection and encourage the study of the area for research and scientific purposes.
National Game Refuges and Wildlife Preserve Areas
  Areas designated by Presidential Proclamation or by Congress for the protection of wildlife.
National Monument Areas
  Areas including historic landmarks, historic and prehistoric structures, and other objects of historic or scientific interest, declared by Proclamation or by Congress as national monuments.

Abbreviations used:
NF National Forest
NFS National Forest System
PU Purchase Unit
NGL National Grassland
LUP Land Utilization Project
EF Experimental Forest
ER Experimental Range
EA Experimental Area
OTH Other Area
NP National Preserve