WEPO: Bystander and Mindfulness Sessions for May - Save the dates

WEPO: Bystander and Mindfulness Sessions for May - Save the dates

PAge header - WEPO office

The Work Environment and Performance Office continues to evolve as we seek to guide, support, and lead the agency as a Values Based, Relationship Focused, and Purpose Driven Organization. See Leslie Weldon, Chief Executive for Work Environment and Performance USDA, Forest Service Leadership Corner from Inside the Forest Service.

 

We hope each of you can take part in the following events and take the opportunity to visit the WEPO SharePoint website. Click here for the latest update on all activities of the Work Environment and Performance Office.

 

Upcoming Training Engagements for All Employees

 

Guided Mindfulness Mediation

Date: Monday, May 6, 2019

Time: 8:00 a.m.8:30 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

          9:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. Mountain (MDT)

          10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Central (CDT)

          11:00 a.m.11:30 a.m. Eastern (EDT)

Type of session: Conference call

How to join: Follow this link for login information [Internal Link].

Synopsis: Meditation is becoming more and more popular as people search for ways to relax, de-stress, accelerate their development, and enhance their quality of life.  It's really no surprise that meditation is becoming so common nowadays, as it has so many positive benefits to offer. One of the easiest ways to experience the overall benefits of meditation is to listen to a guided meditation. Michelle Reugebrink will guide you in 20 to 30 minutes of mindfulness meditation.

 

Additional information: Follow this link [Internal Link].

 

Mindfulness & Resiliency May Monthly Webinar/Mental Health Tool Kit

Date: Thursday, May 9, 2019

          10:00 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

          11:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. Mountain (MDT)

          12:00 p.m. - 12:45 p.m. Central (CDT)

          1:00 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. Eastern (EDT)

Type of session: Webinar/Adobe Connect Meeting

How to join: Follow this link for login information [Internal Link].

Synopsis: Employment can have a positive impact on mental health. A negative work environment may cause physical and/or mental health concerns. Learn more about mindfulness tools that will support a person’s mental health. This includes the 5 evidence-based actions as ways to wellbeing.

 

Mindfulness in the Workplace:  Building a Resilient Team

Date: Thursday, May 9, 2019

         11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Alaska (AKDT)

         12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Pacific (PDT)

         1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Mountain (MDT)

         2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Central (CDT)

         3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

Type of session: Webinar/Adobe Connect Meeting

How to join: Follow this link for login information [Internal Link].

Synopsis: The practice of mindfulness is being integrated into many workplaces and schools, as it supports stress management, promotes resilience, clear and constructive communication, and productive relationships. The American Mindfulness Network conducts programs based on the Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction program, developed by Dr. Jon Kabat-Zinn at the Center for Mindfulness, U-Mass Medical School. MBSR enables conscious awareness, supporting participants to become unstuck in negative patterns of thought, emotion, or behavior.  Colin will facilitate a crash course on an integrative approach to workplace mindfulness, emphasizing workplace productivity, interpersonal relationships, and how we relate to the world.  There will also be a few short mindful guided meditations.

 

For more information please contact Toral Patel Weynand (tpatelweynand@fs.fed.us) or Anne Marsh (amarsh@fs.fed.us)

 

Bystander Intervention Training

Date: Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Time: 10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

          11:00 am. - 12:30 p.m. Mountain (MDT)

          12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. Central (CDT)

          1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Eastern (EDT)

Type of Session:      Webinar

How to join: Follow this link for login information [Internal Link].

Guest speaker: Amber Watson, WO Financial Policy Management Analyst

Synopsis: In this session the participant will be able to:  define the bystander phenomenon, what it is and why it occurs; identify common tactics of sexual harassers and bullies and develop safe and realistic ways to intervene in potentially harmful situations.

Guided Mindfulness Meditation

Date: Thursday, May 23, 2019 

          10:00 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

          11:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. Mountain (MDT)

          12:00 p.m. - 12:45 p.m. Central (CDT)

          1:00 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. Eastern (EDT)

Type of session: Webinar/Adobe Connect Meeting

How to join: Follow this link for login information [Internal Link].

Synopsis: Meditation is becoming more and more popular as people search for ways to relax, de-stress, accelerate their development, and enhance their quality of life.  It's really no surprise that meditation is becoming so common nowadays, as it has so many positive benefits to offer.  One of the easiest ways to experience the overall benefits of meditation is to listen to a guided meditation.  Michelle Reugebrink will guide you in 20 to 30 minutes of mindfulness meditation.

 

Additional information: Follow this link [Internal Link].

 

Become a USDA Forest Service mentor

What You Need to Know

The National Mentoring Program is now accepting mentor applications from GS-7 through GS-15 employees. Being a mentor is a very rewarding experience. Mentors share valuable professional experience and insight while providing guidance to aspiring and inspiring mentees. Mentors serve as role models, providing direction and support to the protégés employee development journey. Mentors give back to the agency by investing in the future of the Forest Service.

Reasons to become a mentor:

  • Improve succession planning by developing employees
  • Only takes 15% or less of official time
  • Help pass knowledge from one generation of workers to another
  • Help employees develop as professionals by improving their skills in translating values and strategies into productive actions
  • Improve retention of existing employees
  • Convey the agency’s values, commitments, and expectations—This is Who We Are
  • Helps you continue to develop as a leader

What You Need to Do

Supervisor approval is required before you can apply to the program. To apply, please complete a Mentor Application [Internal Linkonline.

 

Help is Available

For questions, please send an email to TEDMentoringProgram@mgd.usda.gov.