WEPO: Updated training engagements for August for all employees

WEPO header

Work Environment and Performance Office continues to evolve as we seek to guide, support and lead the agency as a Values Based, Relationship Focused and Purpose Driven Organization.

For Mindfulness Monthly Guided Mediation webinars, please go to the Mindfulness SharePoint site.

Take the opportunity to visit the WEPO SharePoint website. Click ahead for the latest update on all activities of the Work Environment and Performance Office.

Mindfulness and Restorative Justice:  
Rescheduled from August 8th due to technical difficulties:  

New date: Friday, August 23, 2019
                 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Alaska (AKDT)
                10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. Pacific (PDT)
                11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Mountain (MDT)
                12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Central (CDT)
                1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

Type of session: Webinar/Adobe Connect Meeting
How to join: Follow this link for login information [Internal Link]

Hosted by: Michelle Reugebrink, Work Environment & Performance Office NBHWC, IHCP, ICF-PCC, ACE-CPT, MBSR (Certified) Mindfulness & Resiliency Program Manager/Professional Coach

Synopsis: Whenever there has been a relationship rupture and/or some sort of perceived "wrongdoing" or harm, Restorative Justice practices could be called on. The fundamental questions, who has been hurt? and how can we make things right? Apply to a whole variety of workplace situations. Desmond Tutu, South African leader who worked as an anti-apartheid and human rights activist stated in his book Forgiveness, the difference between retributive and restorative justice. “Restoring Our World Nationally and globally we have a choice: restorative or retributive justice. There are those who believe an injustice can be made right only when someone is made to pay for the harm that person has caused. They say I will forgive you provided you get clobbered for what you have done, provided you are made to pay and pay dearly for the harm you have caused me. This is not the path to creating a world of forgiveness or the path to real justice. This eye-for-an-eye system is the basis of retributive justice.”

Apply for the National Senior Leader Program or External Leadership Developmental Opportunities
The National Senior Leader Program Class 15 (SLP15) and external Leadership Developmental Opportunities (LDO) programs are accepting applications for Fiscal Year 2020.  Reply due for the call letter is September 20, 2019. Click the link for call letter and attachments.

These are competency-based development programs for high-potential employees who have an interest in enhancing their leadership behaviors and who have demonstrated the ability to progress into a higher leadership role.  All programs are limited to employees with at least one year of full-time, permanent service at the time of application.

Applications are being accepted for:

  • National Senior Leader Program Class 15 (SLP15)
    • GS-13 and GS-14 employees
    • Five week-long residential sessions
  • Senior Managers in Government (SMG)
    • SES employees
    • Three-week residential program
  • Leadership for a Democratic Society (LDS)
    • GS-15 and SES employees
    • Four-week residential session
  • Senior Executive Fellows (SEF)
    • GS-14 and GS-15 employees
    • Four-week residential program
  • LEGIS Congressional Fellowship
    • GS-13 through GS-15 employees
    • Seven-month or 12-month program

For more information, including unit POCs and application documents, visit the WEPO Training and Employee Development website. Scroll to the Leadership Development section and select either “Senior Leader Program,” or “Leadership Development Opportunities.”

For questions, please contact Cathy Earl, SLP/LDO Program Manager, Work Environment and Performance Office, Training and Employee Development Branch, at 505-944-4028 or cathy.earl@usda.gov.