WEPO: Updated June offerings to improve Employee Work Environment

WEPO header

The Work Environment and Performance Office continues to evolve as we seek to guide, support, and lead the agency as a Values Based, Relationship Focused, and Purpose Driven Organization.  We hope each of you can take part in the following events and take the opportunity to visit the WEPO SharePoint website.  Click here for the latest update on all activities of the Work Environment and Performance Office: http://fsweb.wo.fs.fed.us/wepo/.

 

Also for more information on WEPO updates see Leadership Corner from Inside the Forest Service (https://www.fs.fed.us/blogs/who-we-are-and-who-we-want-be) and look under Out and About.

 

Become a USDA Forest Service Mentor!

The National Mentoring Program is now accepting mentor applications from GS-7 through GS-15 employees.  Being a mentor is a very rewarding experience.  Mentors share valuable professional experience and insight while providing guidance to aspiring and inspiring mentees.  Mentors serve as role models, providing direction and support to the protégés employee development journey.  Mentors give back to the agency by investing in the future of the Forest Service.

Reasons to become a mentor:

  • Improve succession planning by developing employees
  • Only takes 15 percent or less of official time
  • Help pass knowledge from one generation of workers to another
  • Help employees develop as professionals by improving their skills in translating values and strategies into productive actions
  • Improve retention of existing employees
  • Convey the agency’s values, commitments, and expectations - This is Who We Are
  • Helps the mentor continue to develop as a leader

Mentors will use 01 time when mentoring.  No special job code is required.

 

What You Need to Do

Supervisor approval is required before you can apply to the program.  To apply, please complete a Mentor Application online.

 

Help is Available

For questions, please send an email to TEDMentoringProgram@mgd.usda.gov.

 

Multi-Agency USDA Pride Observance

Date:   Thursday, June 6, 2019

Time:   6:00 a.m. - 7:00 a.m. Alaska (AKDT)

             7:00 a.m. - 8:00 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

             8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. Mountain (MDT)

             9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Central (CDT)

            10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

 

Type of Session:   Live-Stream and Recorded

How to Join:   https://youtu.be/EbmQxdDcLDM

 

Call -in Number:   n/a

Hosted By:   Equality USDA, in partnership with numerous USDA Agencies, including Forest Service

 

Synopsis:   This year’s USDA Pride theme is “Honoring our roots, growing our future.” Contact Amy Reid, National Collateral Duty Special Emphasis Program Manager at amy.reid@usda.gov with questions. https://usdagcc.sharepoint.com/sites/fs-cr-od/SitePages/Welcome!.aspx

 

Weekly Guided Mindfulness Meditations

Date:   Thursday, June 6, 2019

Time:   7:00 a.m. - 7:30 a.m. Alaska (AKDT)

             8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

             9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. Mountain (MDT)

             10:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Central (CDT)

             11:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

 

Date:   Monday, June 10, 2019

Time:   8:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. Alaska (AKDT)

             9:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

             10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. Mountain (MDT)

             11:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Central (CDT)

             12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

 

Date:   Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Time:   8:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. Alaska (AKDT)

             9:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

             10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. Mountain (MDT)

             11:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Central (CDT)

             12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

 

Date:   Thursday, June 20, 2019

Time:   7:00 a.m. - 7:30 a.m. Alaska (AKDT)

             8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. Pacific

             9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. Mountain (MDT)

             10:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Central (CDT)

             11:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

 

Type of Session:   Conference Call

How to Join:   Phone

 

Call -in Number:   1-888-844-9904; Passcode 5637452#

 

Hosted By:   Michelle Reugebrink, Work Environment & Performance Office NBHWC, IHCP, ICF-PCC, ACE-CPT, MBSR (Certified) Mindfulness & Resiliency Program Manager/Professional Coach

 

Synopsis:   Meditation is becoming more and more popular as people search for ways to relax, de-stress, accelerate their development, and enhance their quality of life.  It's really no surprise that meditation is becoming so common nowadays, as it has so many positive benefits to offer.  One of the easiest ways to experience the overall benefits of meditation is to listen to a guided meditation.  Michelle Reugebrink will guide you in 20 to 30 minutes of mindfulness meditation. https://usdagcc.sharepoint.com/sites/fs-cr-mhw/SitePages/Monthly%20Guided%20Meditations.aspx

 

Mindfulness & Resiliency/Foundation of Happiness at Work

Date:   Thursday, June 13, 2019

             9:00 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. Alaska (AKDT)

             10:00 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

             11:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. Mountain (MDT)

             12:00 p.m. - 12:45 p.m. Central (CDT)

             1:00 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

 

Type of Session:   Webinar/Adobe Connect Meeting

How to Join:   https://usfs.adobeconnect.com/cr-1000/

 

Call -in Number:   1-877-369-5243 or 1-617-668-3633, Passcode: 0927788##

                                Please plan to join the audio through the conference line.  The

conference call line will open five minutes prior to the webinar start time.

 

Hosted By: Michelle Reugebrink, Work Environment & Performance Office NBHWC, IHCP, ICF-PCC, ACE-CPT, MBSR (Certified) Mindfulness & Resiliency Program Manager/Professional Coach

 

Synopsis: Understand why happiness at work matters.  Discover how to increase happiness within yourself and across your organization.  Hear more about research-based strategies to help you foster mindfulness, handle stress, and guard against burnout.

 

What Successful Managers Do Differently

Date:   Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Time:   9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. Alaska (AKDT)

             10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Pacific (PDT)

             11:00 am. - 12:30 p.m. Mountain (MDT)

             12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. Central (CDT)

             1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

 

Type of Session:   Webinar

How to Join:   https://usfs.adobeconnect.com/cr-1000/

 

Call-in Number:   1-888-844-9904; Passcode: 6715754#

 

Hosted By:   Linda Burroughs-Glover, Alternative Dispute Resolution Specialist, Conflict Management and Prevention Center Manager for the WO, LEI and ENT

 

Guest Speaker:  Markette Murphy, CMPC Manager for Region 5 and the Pacific Southwest Research Station

 

Synopsis:   You are more powerful than you think.  There is always at least one person in the room who you can influence, one person you can change – that person is you.  Learn why changing your attitude is sometimes the most powerful thing you can do.

 

Women in Middle to Upper Leadership Virtual Focus Group Discussion

Date:   Wednesday, June 26, 2019

             10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Alaska (AKDT)

             11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Pacific (PDT)

             12:30 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Mountain (MDT)

             1:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Central (CDT)

             2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Eastern (EDT) & Atlantic Standard (AST)

 

Type of Session:   Adobe Connect Meeting

 

How to Join:   Control + Click to access Adobe Connect room: https://usfs.adobeconnect.com/cr-1000/

 

Call -in Number:   1-877-369-5243 or 1-617-668-3633, Passcode: 0446520##

                                Audio is provided by conference line only. You may join the conference five minutes prior to start time.  Group meetings are encouraged to minimize the number of connections needed:  a limited number of connections (1000) have been issued.  Real time captioning will be provided.

Hosted By:   Federal Women’s Special Emphasis Program Core Team. Contact Dani Ramirez-Montoya, National Federal Women’s Program Manager at danette.ramirezmontoya@usda.gov with questions.

 

Background:   Respondents to the national employee survey informing the re-invigoration of the FSWEP selected ‘women in middle to upper leadership’ as a priority topic to include as part of a virtual focus group series.  This discussion will be the third in our ongoing series and aims to engage employees nationwide.

 

Synopsis:   Focus group discussions are not recorded in effort to provide space for open discussion and shared learning.  Join us for an insightful discussion about women in middle to upper leadership.  A brilliant panel of employees will kick-off the conversation by sharing how their experiences forged a path toward leadership in the Forest Service.  For greater engagement, participants will share their thoughts and experiences using interactive polls and the on-line chat pod.  Additional details can be found here and in the attached flyer. 

 

Panelists:

  • Evan Burks, Congressional Relations Assistant, Eastern Region (R9)
  • Brandy Hill, Patrol Captain, Eastern Region (R9)
  • Tonja Opperman, Wildfire Decision Support/Analyst, Northern Region (R1)
  • Kenli Kim, National Program Leader for Social Science Research (WO)
  • Amy L. Reid, District Ranger, Pacific Southwest Region (R5)

https://usdagcc.sharepoint.com/sites/fs-cr-wsep/SitePages/Home.aspx

 

New Supervisor Blended Training

Dates:   Monday through Friday, July 15 – July 19, 2019

Time:   8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

 

Type of Session:   Classroom (no virtual attendance)

Location:   Training Center, Albuquerque, NM

 

How to Register:   Send an email to supvr_dev@mgd.usda.gov for information

Hosted By:   Training & Employee Development Branch

 

Synopsis:   The New Supervisor Blended Training (NST) is for permanent, full-time supervisors who are in their first year of a supervisory appointment.  It fulfills the requirement for new supervisor training in USDA DR 4040-412-002.  The NST consists of some on-line AgLearn courses and a one-week classroom session.  It covers human resources and work environment topics critical to the success of Forest Service supervisors.

http://fsweb.wo.fs.fed.us/wepo/olc.php#section3HeaderId