[design image slice] U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service on faded trees in medium light green background [design image slice] more faded trees
[design image] green box with curved corner [design image] green and cream arch
Information Center
National Offices and Programs
Regional Offices

USDA Forest Service
1400 Independence Ave SW
Washington, D.C.

(202) 205-8333


Page Contact:

Forest Service Home > Projects and Policies > Appeals

Forest Service Environmental Appeal Responses

This site contains information about the Forest Service's Environmental Appeals. An appeal is a request to an agency higher authority for review of an environmental decision. The public's rights and responsibilities for filing an appeal are defined in specific appeal regulations. Usually, all administrative processes must be exhausted before a person can bring a court action (litigation) associated with an environmental decision.

General Information: For general information about the environmental appeals process, please refer to the Related Information links.

Appeal Decisions: Recent and historical appeal decisions are available on this site and are organized by the unit managing the project.

Please use the map or drop-down lists to view the Forest Service's appeal responses issued from projects taking place in the Washington Office (at the national level), in region-level units, or in forest-level units.

Appeal Decision for the revised Prescott National Forest Land and Resource Management Plan - (.pdf - 16.3MB)

Appeal Decision of the Apache-Sitgreaves National Forests Land Management Plan Revision - (.pdf - 3.87MB)

You may navigate directly to a Regional Appeal Response page using the following drop-down list, or by clicking on any of the Forest Service Regions on the map:
 R1 - Northern Region
 R2 - Rocky Mountain Region
 R3 - Southwestern Region
 R4 - Intermountain Region
 R5 - Pacific Southwest Region
 R6 - Pacific Northwest Region
 R8 - Southern Region
 R9 - Eastern Region
 R10 - Alaska Region
 Washington Office (National Headquarters)

[graphic] USDA logo, which links to the department's national site. [graphic] Forest Service logo, which links to the agency's national site. [graphic] A link to the US Forest Service home page. Region 10 Alaska Region 6 Pacific Northwest Region (WA, OR) Region 1 Nothern Region (MT, N. Idaho, ND, NW South Dakota) Region 5 Pacific Southwest Region (CA, HI, Guam, Trust Territories) Region 4 Intermountain Region (S. Idaho, NV, UT, W. Wyoming) Region 3 Southwestern Region (AZ, NM) Region 2 Rocky Mountain Region (CO, KS, NE, SD, E. Wyoming) Region 8 Southern Region (Southern states, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands) Region 9 Eastern Region (Midwest, and Northeast US)