Home >> Visit >> Webcams, Photos & Videos

Webcams, Photos & Videos

Webcams
A live, underwater view of Steep Creek near the Mendenhall Glacier in Juneau, Alaska. Sockeye salmon will likely move into camera's view in mid-July. From mid-July through the end of August, the Sockeye salmon enter the creek to dig redds (nests), find mates and spawn. Cutthroat trout and Dolly Varden (similar to Bull trout) are also in the creek system. Dolly Varden consume any eggs that don't make it into the redd. You can also see Coho salmon fry from time to time. Adult Sockeye in Steep Creek average 24" in length. Dolly Varden tend to be smaller, around 12-18" in length.
Despite appearances, the creak is only about 18" deep near the camera.
 
Best viewing times are:
 
Starting at 8:30am ET | 6:30am MT | 4:30am Alaska time
 
Ending at 1:30am ET | 11:30pm MT | 9:30pm Alaska time
 
At night there is not enough natural light for the video camera.
 
For more information about the Steep Creek Fish Viewing Site, visit: http://www.fs.usda.gov/detail/r10/spe...
 
Brought to you by the Tongass National Forest, U.S. Forest Service. #SalmonWatch
 

 
 
Photos
View our flickr site.
 
Videos
Chief Tom Tidwell on the 50th Anniversary of the Wilderness Act
The Forest Service is actively participating in Wilderness50 - the national coalition of government agencies, organizations, and tribal and citizen groups working to commemorate 50 years of wilderness. Wilderness50 is planning a variety of projects and events and also developing resources to assist implementation of local activities throughout the country. The Wilderness50 national theme is "YOURS ... To Enjoy ... To Protect"

 
 
Puff and Fluff the owls return home
Puff and Fluff, the baby owls that Forest Service firefighters saved during the Carstens Fire in June 2013, are finally home. Terri Williams of the Fresno Wildlife Rescue and Rehabilitation Servicereleased the Western Screech-Owls on July 24 near where they were found the month before in a downed tree in the Sierra National Forest.

 
Chips the Baby Bobcat
During the Chips Fire on the Plumas National Forest, a baby bobcat was orphaned. While the Forest Service restored the forest, the bobcat, then known as Chips, recovered at a wild animal rehabilitation facility. Recently, Chips was returned to the wild.

 
Sockeye Salmon in Steep Creek, Juneau, Alaska
#SalmonWatch, a Forest Service web cam, is focused on hundreds of Sockeye salmon that swim to their spawning grounds in Steep Creek on the Tongass National Forest. The camera is placed strategically underwater so you can watch as the salmon dig redds.  The creek system also has Dolly Varden (similar to Bull trout), Cutthroat trout, and Coho fry. If you’re lucky – making the salmon unlucky – you just might notice a bear paw or two like one of our#SalmonWatch viewers did.
-->

Back to Top