skip navigation to page content

U.S. Forest Service Tribal Relations

USDA Logo and Forest Service Shield
Tribal Relations
Tribal Relations

Tribal Directives Consultation

Instructions for Consulting on the Proposed Tribal Relations Directives (FSM 1560 & FSH 1509.13)

Federally recognized tribes should have received information on the proposed Tribal Relations Directives as well as Fire Directives and the Special Forest Products Final Rule, inviting a bundled tribal consultation. The tribal consultation period for the Fire Directives and Special Forest Products Final Rule ended on October 6, 2013, but the tribal consultation period for the Tribal Relations Directives will be open until further notice.

To request consultation or provide comments on the Tribal Relations Directives, please contact your Regional Tribal Relations Program Manager listed in the table below. The Tribal Relations Program Managers can also provide you with hard copies of the directives, rule or appendices, help coordinate consultation, or further dialogue.

Regional Tribal Relations Program Managers
Name Email Address Telephone Number Region (states)
Cheryl Vanderburg cvanderburg@fs.fed.us 208-476-8332 Region 1 (MT, northern ID, ND, northwest SD)
Region 4 (southern ID, NV, UT, western WY)
Susan Johnson sjohnson08@fs.fed.us 303-275-5760 Region 2 (CO, KS, NE, SD, eastern WY)
Dan Meza dmeza@fs.fed.us 505-842-3424 Region 3 (AZ, NM)
Robert Goodwin ragoodwin@fs.fed.us 707-562-8919 Region 5 (CA, HI, U.S. Pacific Islands)
Waldo Walker wwalker@fs.fed.us 503-808-2603 Region 6 (OR, WA)
Ian Ritchie iritchie@fs.fed.us 404-347-5264 Region 8 (AL, AR, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, OK, PR, SC, TN, TX, VI, VA)
Larry Heady lheady@fs.fed.us 414-297-3777 Region 9 (CT, DE, IL, IN, IA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MO, NH, NJ, NY, OH, PA, RI, VT, WV, WI)
Lillian Petershoare lpetershoare@fs.fed.us 907-586-7089 Region 10 (AK)

If you have specific questions about the Tribal Relations Directives, you may also contact:

Fred Clark
Director, Office of Tribal Relations
Telephone: 202-205-1514
Email: fclark@fs.fed.us

The Forest Service staff will review and take into consideration all comments before recommending a final draft to the Chief. The Forest Service Chief will review and finalize all revisions before publishing through the Forest Service directives process.

The Forest Service continues to be committed to government-to-government consultation. We encourage you to combine your consultation meetings where appropriate, and we look forward to assisting you in meeting your consultation needs.

Current Tribal Relations Directives

Proposed Tribal Relations Directives

Location: http://www.fs.fed.us/spf/tribalrelations/bundledconsultation.shtml
Last modified: 10:02:38 24-Oct-2014