You are here: Home / Criteria and Indicators / Criterion 7 / Indicator 7.59

Indicator 7.59: Compatibility with other countries in reporting on indicators

An indicator for Criterion 7: Legal, Institutional, and Economic Framework for Forest Conservation and Sustainable Management

What is the indicator and why is it important?

Consistent data among countries using the Montréal Process will facilitate comparative monitoring of sustainable forest management and trends over time. The member countries are: Argentina, Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, the Russian Federation, the United States, and Uruguay.

What does the indicator show?

The United States works with other countries in the Montréal Process through Technical Advisory Committees to help agree on indicator revisions and develop common data formats. Each country may have laws and geophysical situations that are unique, but as much as possible, common data formats for the indicators are adopted. Data compatibility is of course the responsibility of the Federal Government.

The participating countries in the Montréal Process use education, technical assistance, research, and planning to seek common data formats and reporting methods. State forestry agencies, private sector forest products firms, and forest landowners may contribute to these efforts by reporting data in the formats sought for the United States and Montréal Process reports.

Table 59-1: Policy and Governance Classification

What has changed since 2003?

Reporting protocols are harmonized, to the extent possible, by Montréal Process technical advisory committees, but the capacity of each country to collect and report all the data differs. Data compatibility has improved in the 2010 report, but most indicators are still not completely reported by any country, let alone in the exactly same metrics and format.

Criterion 7 Indicators