Partners in Flight
Physiographic Area Bird Conservation Plans
Status - April 2000
Physiographic Area Exec Priorities/Objectives Draft 1.0 Final 1.0 Projected Web Main Author of BCP Address Email Address
  Summary (Tables 1&2)     Completion Date Available      
                   
01 Subtropical Florida X X Yes No mid-May 2000 No George Wallace Florida Game and Fish Commission, Tallahassee, FL wallacg@gfc.state.fl.us
02 Peninsular Florida X X Yes No mid-May 2000 No George Wallace    
03 South Atlantic Coastal Plain X X No No mid-May 2000 No Chuck Hunter US Fish and wildlife Service, Region 4, Atlanta, GA chuck_hunter@fws.gov
04 East Gulf Coastal Plain X X Yes Yes   Yes Mark Woodrey Mississippi Dept. of wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks, Jackson, MI woodrey@mmns.state.ms.us
05 Miss Alluvial Valley X X Yes Yes   Yes Dan Twedt USGS-BRD, Vicksburg, MI dan_twedt@usgs.gov
06 Coastal Prairies X X No No December-00 No Cliff Shackelford Texas Parks and wildlife Dept., Austin, TX clifford.shackelford@tpwd.state.tx.us
07 South Texas Brushlands X X Yes No May-00 No Cliff Shackelford    
08 Oaks and Prairies X X Yes (rough) No December-00 No Cliff Shackelford    
09 Southern New England X X Partial No June-00 No Randy Dettmers US Fish and wildlife Service, Region 5, Hadley, MA randy_dettmers@fws.gov
10 Mid Atlantic Piedmont X X No No August-00 No      
11 Southern Piedmont X X Yes (rough) No December-00 No Bob Cooper School of Forestry, Univ. of Georgia, Athens, GA rcooper@smokey.forestry.uga.edu
12 Mid Atlantic Ridge/Valley X X Yes No August-00 No      
13 Southern Ridge/Valley X X Yes No December-00 No Bob Ford US Fish and wildlife Service, Arlington, VA bob_ford@fws.gov
14 Interior Low Plateaus X X Yes No May-00 No Bob Ford    
15 Lower Great Lakes Plain X X No No August-00 No      
16 Upper Great Lakes Plain X X Yes No   No Melinda Knutson USGS-BRD, LaCrosse, WI melinda_knutson@usgs.gov
17 Northern Ridge/Valley X X No No August-00 No      
18 St. Lawrence Plain X X Yes No   No      
19 Ozark-Ouachita Plateau X X Yes No June-00 No Jane Fitzgerald Partners in Flight, Brentwood, MO fitzgj@mail.conservation.state.mo.us
20 Boreal Hardwood Transition X X Yes No   No Sumner Matteson Wisconsin Dept. of Natural Resources, Madison, WI mattes@mail101.dnr.state.wi.us
21 Northern Cumberland Plateau X X Yes No May-00 No Bob Ford    
22 Ohio Hills X X Yes No   No      
23 Southern Blue Ridge X X Yes Yes   No Chuck Hunter    
24 Allegeny Plateau X X No No June-00 No Ken Rosenberg Cornell Laboratory of Ornoithology, Ithaca, NY kvr2@cornell.edu
26 Adirondack Mts X X Yes Yes   Yes      
27 Northern New England X X Yes No   No Tom Hodgman Maine Dept Inland Fish Wildl, Bangor, ME tom.hodgman@state.me.us
28 Spruce-Hardwood Forest X X Yes No   No      
30 Aspen Parklands                  
31 Prairie Peninsula X X Yes Yes   Yes Jane Fitzgerald    
32 Dissected Till Plains X X Yes Yes   Yes Jane Fitzgerald    
33 Osage Plains X X Yes (old) No mid-July 2000 No Jane Fitzgerald    
34 Central Mixed-grass Prairie X X No No Fall 2000 No Jane Fitzgerald    
36 Central Shortgrass Prairie (CO) X X              
37 Northern Mixed-grass Prairie X X Yes Yes   Yes Jane Fitzgerald    
38 West River X X No No December-00 No Jane Fitzgerald    
39 Northern Shortgrass Prairie (MT, WY) X X              
40 Northern Tallgrass Prairie X X Yes Yes   Yes Jane Fitzgerald    
42 West Gulf Coastal Plain X X Yes No May-00 No      
44 Mid Atlantic Coastal Plain X X Yes No   No Bryan Watts William and Mary College, Gloucester, VA bdwatt@mail.wm.edu
53 Edwards Plateau X X No No June-00 No Cliff Shackleford    
54 Rolling Red Plains X X No No January-01 No Cliff Shackleford    
55 Pecos and Staked Plains (TX, NM) X X Yes (TX) No June-00 No Cliff Shackleford    
56 Chihuahuan Desert (TX, NM) X X         Cliff Shackleford    
62 Southern Rocky Mts (CO, NM) X X         Carol Beardmore Arizona Game and Fish Dept., Phoenix, AZ cbeardmore@gf.state.az.us
64 Central Rocky Mts (WY, OR, WA, MT, ID) X X         Carol Beardmore    
66 Sierra Nevada (CA) X X         Carol Beardmore    
69 Utah Mts (UT) X X         Carol Beardmore    
80 Basin and Range (NV, UT, ID) X X         Carol Beardmore    
81 Mexican Highlands (NM, AZ) X X         Carol Beardmore    
82 Sonoran Desert (AZ, CA) X X         Carol Beardmore    
83 Mojave Desert (NV, CA, AZ) X X         Carol Beardmore    
84 Mogollon Rim (NM, AZ) X X         Carol Beardmore    
85 Mesa and Plains (NM) X X         Carol Beardmore    
86 Wyoming Basin (WY) X X         Carol Beardmore    
87 Colorado Plateau (CO, UT, AZ, NM) X X         Carol Beardmore    
89 Columbia Plateau (OR, WA, ID) X X         Carol Beardmore    
90 Central/Southern CA Coasts (CA) X X         Carol Beardmore    
93 Southern Pacific Rainforests (CA, OR, WA) X X         Carol Beardmore    
Alaska X X Yes Yes   Yes Brad Andres USFWS, Anchorage, AK brad_andres@mail.fws.gov
Arizona X X Yes Yes   Yes Margie Latta Arizona Game and Fish Dept., Phoenix, AZ mlatta@gf.state.az.us
California                  
Riparian X X Yes Yes   Yes Geoff Geupel Point Reyes Bird Observatory, Stinson Beach, CA ggeupel@prbo.org
Sierra Nevada X X Yes No June-00 Yes      
Coastal Sage/Chaparral X X No No June-00 Yes      
Mixed Conifers X X No No June-00 Yes      
Oak Woodlands X X No No June-00 Yes      
Grasslands X X No No June-00 Yes      
Colorado X X Yes Yes   Yes Carol Beidleman Partners in Flight, Estes Park, CO beidlemanc@aol.com
Idaho X X Yes Yes   Yes Sharon Ritter Partners in Flight, Hamilton, MT ritter@bitterroot.net
Montana X X Yes Yes   No Dan Casey Montana Dept. Fish, wildlife and Parks, Kalispell, MT dancasey@digisys.net
Nevada X X Yes Yes   Yes Larry Neel Nevada Division of wildlife, Fallon, NV neel@phonewave.net
New Mexico X X Yes Yes   Yes Chris Rustay Hawks Aloft, Albuquerque, NM crustay@rt66.com
Oregon/Washington                  
Westside Conifers X X Yes Yes   Yes Bob Altman American Bird Conservancy, Boring, OR alt8bird@aol.com
Westside Lowlands X X Yes Yes   No Bob Altman    
Columbia Plateau X X Yes Yes   No Bob Altman    
Northern Rockies X X Yes No May-00 No Bob Altman    
Eastern Cascades X X Yes No June-00 No Bob Altman    
Utah X X Yes No July-00 (in review) No Jim Parrish Utah Division of wildlife Resources, Salt Lake City, UT nrdwr.jparrish@state.ut.us
Wyoming X X No No July-00 No Andrea Cerovski Wyoming Game and Fish Dept, Lander, WY acerov@missc.state.wy.us