USDA FOREST SERVICE : Strategic Planning and Resource Assessment

Forest Service at a Glance


The Forest Service organization includes six forest and range experimental stations, the Forest Products Lab, the State and Private Forestry Northeastern Area, the International Institute of Tropical Forestry, nine National Forest System regions that include the 155 national forests and 20 national grasslands, and the national headquarters office in Washington, DC. Please see the organizational chart for a description of national offices and programs.